School Community

School Executive:

CEO/Principal - Mr Tony Fitzgerald
Acting Assistant Principal - Mrs Eryn Lonergan
Executive Assistant to CEO/Principal - Mrs Karen Taylor

Leader of Curriculum - Mrs Eryn Lonergan
Leader of Pastoral Care - Mrs Kylee Laugeson
Leader of Vision & Mission - Mrs Jacqueline Gorey

To read more about our School Executive please go to Our School Executive page by clicking here.

School Chaplain - Sr Jeanie Heininger sgs (Monday am, Thurs & Fri)
To view a profile of Sr Jeanie, please click here.  Sr Jeanie will be retiring at the end of 2018 - click here to read an article from our December 2018 Matters Magazine.
Psychologist - Mrs Caroline Ooi
Post School and Technology Support Coordinator - Mr Andre Daniels

Special Education (Pedagogy) and Research Consultant - Dr Bree Jiminez (In partnership with the University of Sydney, Dr Jiminez will be working with our teachers in a coaching and mentoring role to support classroom based instructional practices and assessment, and differentiated teaching and learning experiences.)

The Founding Principal of Mater Dei was Sr Mary Gregory sgs. To read a profile of Sr Mary Gregory that was published in the May 2007 Matters Magazine please click here.

Classes & Teachers

Class Names
One infants/primary class and one secondary class will each share the name of a significant religious figure connected to our Benedictine and Good Samaritan culture and heritage.
Benedict - is named after Saint Benedict. Our Good Samaritan Sisters are of the Order of Saint Benedict.
Gregory - is named after Sister Mary Gregory, Mater Dei’s first School Principal.
Polding -  is named after Bede Polding, the first Bishop of Sydney who founded the Sisters of the Good Samaritan in Sydney.
McCabe - is named after Bishop McCabe, the Bishop who approached the Sisters of the Good Samaritan to change Mater Dei into a special needs school as opposed to an orphanage.
Gibbons - is named after Saint Scholastica Gibbons, Saint Benedict’s sibling/sister.
MacKillop - is named after Saint Mary MacKillop, Australia’s first Saint.

2018 Classes & Teachers

K Samaritan


Mrs Rebecca Hanrahan (M-W) & Mrs Jacqueline Gorey (Th-F)

K/1 Benedict 

Mrs Michelle Charles

1/2  Gregory

Mr Jake Elvin

2/3 Polding

Mr Aleks Todorovic 

3/4 McCabe

Mrs Jennifer Twine

5 Gibbons

Miss Kate Bonfield will be joining us

and teaching this class from Monday 6 August.


6 MacKillop

Ms Gemma Croft

7/8 Benedict


Miss Georgia Flynn

7/8 Gregory


Mrs Leanne Steedman (M-W) & Mrs Rowena Kennedy (Th-F)

9/10 McCabe


Mr Sid Conte

9/10 Polding


Mrs Helen Fahey (M-W) & Mrs Jody Musso (Th-F)

11/ MacKillop

Mrs Carla Warby

12 Gibbons


Mr Andre Daniels


Mrs Ally Cane



Mrs Kellie Anderson           Ms Liz Irving


Mrs Anne Salway

Special Education (Pedagogy)
and Research Consultant


Dr Bree Jiminez


School Assistants:

Mrs Helen Jacob, Mrs Chris McIntyre, Mrs Donna Morrison, Mrs Julietta Borgia-Brain, Ms Jodie Dobinson, Mrs Janette Fowler, Ms Nadine Gale, Ms Amanda Giles, Mr Christopher Herd, Miss Carly Hessey, Mrs Leigh Hough, Mrs Ana Kosub, Mrs Tanya Madsen, Mrs Rhonda McNeilly, Mrs Sue Neal, Mrs Tracey Osborne, Mrs Kim Rossetto, Mr Mark Sheddon, Mrs Donna Swain.
First Aid - Kerrie Borthwick RN

Our School Staff


Administration Team:

Ms Anne Lauder - Business Manager & responsible for Student Transport (Mon to Fri)
Mrs Luisa Penman - Personal Assistant to the CEO/Principal and Board of Directors; Enrolment Secretary (Mon, Tues, Thurs, Fri)
Mrs Emma Bray - Administrative Assistant to the Business Manager (Tues, Wed & Thurs)
Mrs Michele Dunshea - Administrative Assistant to the Assistant Principal (Mon-Wed, & Friday)
Mrs Lisa Gruar - Student fees, payroll and processing of cheques/monies (Tues, Wed & Thurs)
Mrs Helen Flett - Reception (Mon, Wed & Thurs)
Mrs Carmen Nardi - Administrative Assistant to School Executive (Mon,Wed & Thurs) and Receptionist (Tues & Fri)
Mr Michael Reynolds - Maintenance (Mon to Fri)
Mrs Katrina Sims - System Administrator & IT Support (Tues-Thurs)

Development Team:

Mrs Catherine Jeffcoate - Director of Development (Mon-Fri)
Mrs Sarah Ryan - Event and Development Coordinator (Mon-Fri)
Mrs Alison McManus - Development Administrative Assistant (Tues-Fri)

Our Administration Team, Development Team and Taxi Drivers